Biography

Biography2019-01-06T16:07:16+00:00
Linda has developed a work philosophy that can transform cleaning into caring and has paved the way for a broader view of why we clean and how we clean.

Linda Thomas was born in 1953 in South Africa where she and her six sisters and brothers spent their childhood and youth.

After finishing school she met her future husband and, in 1977, the couple moved to Switzerland, where their two children were born. It was to enable her children to attend the Waldorf School that Linda founded an ecological cleaning institute in Arlesheim in March 1988 – a unique enterprise in Switzerland at the time. After remarrying in 1997 she managed this firm together with her husband up until 2009.

An intensive 21-year period of work began in 1991 when she took on cleaning the washrooms at the Goetheanum in Dornach. In January 1993 she became head of the Goetheanum’s cleaning team, a position she held up until Easter 2012. After passing an instructor examination in 2008 she started training home economics students and cleaning apprentices.

Because she had always loved her work as a homemaker, Linda discovered a different meaning in the everyday ‘chores’ and, once she started cleaning professionally, a whole new world opened up for her. Increasingly, she was guided by the question: if one can work spiritually anywhere in the world and in any occupation, it must also be possible if one cleans and cares for a home. Her research was supported by work she did with Manfred Schmidt-Brabant within the preparation group for the task of the housemother at the Goetheanum that organized annual conferences on this theme.

Linda has developed a work philosophy that can transform cleaning into caring and has paved the way for a broader view of why we clean and how we clean.

In 2004 she initiated the first international cleaning conference at the Goetheanum, followed by two further conferences in 2006 and 2008 and a Movement in Facility Management symposium in 2009.

After publishing her first book in 2011 – Why Cleaning Has Meaning: Bringing Wellbeing Into Your Home (originally written in German, with English and Italian translations following later) – Linda began to work more widely as a consultant, lecturer and seminar facilitator.

In April 2012 she became head of housekeeping at the Lukas Klinik in Arlesheim. When this hospital merged with the Ita Wegman Klinik in 2014 and became the new Klinik Arlesheim, she joined the hospital management as head of Services. Linda retired at the end of August 2017.

Qualification based on experience:
  • Establishing and managing her own cleaning firm

  • Years of experience with organic cleaners and care products

  • Years of experience in housekeeping and house management

  • Years of experience in training her own staff, staff in hospitals and homes, carers, students, etc.

  • Years of experience in adult education

  • A long-standing interest in the elements and elemental beings and in working with them

Take some time. Treat yourself. You deserve it.

Bringing Wellbeing Into Your Home

Few of us enjoy cleaning: it often feels like a thankless, repetitive task which we force ourselves to do.

Linda Thomas is an expert, professional cleaner who ran her own ecological cleaning company for over twenty years. In this unique book, she explores her passion for cleaning, and argues that cleaning can have a profound effect not just on the spaces we care for, but on our own wellbeing and personal development.

This lively and readable book is full of anecdotes, practical examples and ecological cleaning tips from Linda’s decades of cleaning experience. Ultimately she argues that if we raise our understanding of cleaning, we might even begin to enjoy it!

Buy Now

Biografie

Biografie2019-01-06T16:08:23+00:00
So entwickelte Linda Thomas ihre Arbeitsphilosophie, die das Putzen in Pflegen verwandeln kann und setzte einen deutlichen Impuls für eine Umwandlung im Denken und Handeln

Linda Thomas wurde 1953 in Südafrika geboren und erlebte dort ihre Kindheit und Jugend mit sechs Geschwistern.

Nach dem Schulabschluss lernte sie ihren zukünftigen Mann kennen, mit dem sie 1977 in die Schweiz kam. Zwei Kinder wurden geboren und, um ihnen die Waldorfschule zu ermöglichen, gründete sie im März 1988 ein „ökologisches Reinigungsinstitut“ in Arlesheim, das als einmalig in der Schweiz galt. Die Firma leitete sie nach der zweiten Ehe von 1997 mit ihrem Mann bis 2009.

Eine 21-jährige, intensive Tätigkeit begann 1991, als sie anfing, die sanitären Bereiche des Goetheanum in Dornach zu reinigen. Im Januar 1993 übernahm sie die Leitung des Reinigungsteams am Goetheanum, das sie bis Ostern 2012 begleitete. Damit sie Lehrlinge ausbilden konnte, bestand sie 2008 die Prüfung als Ausbildnerin.

Ihre Liebe zum Hausfrauenberuf hat sie in den Pflichten des Alltags einen anderen Sinn entdecken lassen. Als die professionelle Reinigung dazu kam, eröffnete sich ihr eine ganz neue Welt. Immer mehr wurde sie von der Forschungsfrage geleitet: «Wenn es richtig ist, an jedem Ort und durch jede Tätigkeit in der Welt spirituell wirksam sein zu können, so muss es auch durch die tägliche pflegerische Putzarbeit im Haushalt und in der beruflichen Welt möglich sein». Diese Forschung wurde unterstützt durch die Arbeit mit Manfred Schmidt-Brabant im Vorbereitungskreis der Hausmütterarbeit am Goetheanum, die jährlich Tagungen zu diesem Thema veranstaltete.

So entwickelte sie ihre Arbeitsphilosophie, die das Putzen in Pflegen verwandeln kann und setzte einen deutlichen Impuls für eine Umwandlung im Denken und Handeln, sowie für ein erweitertes Selbstverständnis der Reinigungsarbeiten.

2004 initiierte sie die 1. Internationale Fachtagung zur Putzkultur am Goetheanum mit zwei weiteren Tagungen in 2006 und 2008.  2009 folgte die Fachtagung „Bewegung im Facility Management“.

Nach der Publikation des Buches: «Putzen?! Von der lästigen Notwendigkeit zu einer Liebeserklärung an die Gegenwart» in 2011, intensivierte sich ihrer Beratungs-, Vortrags- und Seminartätigkeit im In- und Ausland. Weitere Publikationen folgten in Englisch und Italienisch.

Im April 2012 übernahm sie die Leitung der Hauswirtschaft der Lukas Klinik, Arlesheim. Nach der Fusion mit der Ita Wegman Klinik in Arlesheim übernahm sie 2014 die Leitung Allgemeine Dienste der neuen Klinik Arlesheim, als Mitglied der Klinikleitung. Ende August 2017 wurde sie pensioniert.

Bei Linda Thomas liegt Qualifikation in der Erfahrung:
  • Aufbau und Führung einer eigenen Reinigungsfirma

  • Jahrzehnte lange Erfahrung mit biologischen Putz-, Reinigungs- und Pflegemitteln

  • Jahrzehnte lange Erfahrung in Hauswirtschaftsführung und -management

  • Jahrzehnte lange Schulungserfahrung mit eigenen Angestellten, Spital- und Heimangestellte, Betreuer, Schüler und Schülerinnen, Seminaristen, usw.

  • Viele Jahre Erfahrung als Erwachsenenbildnerin

  • Langjähriges Interesse für und Arbeiten mit den Elementen und Elementarwesen

Ordnung

Unordnung ist nicht gleich Chaos Seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren gebe ich Vorträge und Seminare zum Thema Putzen und Pflegen. Mit der [...]

Frühjahrsputz

Putzen als kulturelle Tradition und andere schöne Dinge

Frühling und Großreinemachen! Das gilt nach einem langen, kalten Winter auch für uns selbst. Auf einmal sehen wir alles, was in der dunklen Jahreszeit nicht so sichtbar war: die Staubschichten, die Spinnweben … Die Fenster werden weit geöffnet, Staubwedel und Putzlappen hervorgeholt, Möbel werden weggezogen, Teppiche herausgetragen und geklopft, Bettzeug wird gewaschen, die Matratzen gelüftet. Alle, die schon einmal  einen richtigen Frühjahrsputz gemacht haben, kennen dieses Gefühl einer großen Befreiung, das über uns kommt, und die große Freude, durch blitzblanke Fensterscheiben zu schauen! Das Haus wirkt plötzlich heller und größer. In diesem Buch finden Sie Anregendes zu Reinigungstraditionen aus aller Welt und viele praktische Tipps und Tricks sowie kleine Weisheiten rund ums Putzen.

Buy Now